Working Group and Advisory Board Members


Steering Committee

  • Christina Gardner-McCune, University of Florida (co-chair), Gainesville, FL
  • Deborah Seehorn, CSTA
  • Dave Touretzky, Carnegie Mellon (chair), Pittsburgh, PA

To contact the working group, email:

  • Hal Abelson, MIT
  • Cynthia Breazeal, MIT Media Lab
  • Fred Martin, U. Mass. Lowell and past CSTA Chair
  • Emily Reid, AI4All
  • Matthijs Spaan, TU Delft and AAAI
  • Hal Speed, Austin, TX
Advisory Board
  • Miles Berry, Roehampton University, UK
  • Amy Eguchi, UCSD, San Diego, CA
  • Laura Schmidt, Milwaukee Tech Hub Coalition, Milwaukee, WI
  • Irene Lee, MIT, Cambridge, MA
  • Dahua Lin, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  • Hari Raghavan, IBM, New York, NY
  • Wells Santo, Oakland, CA
  • Joseph South, ISTE, Portland, OR
  • Tom Vander Ark, Getting Smart, Federal Way, WA
  • Karon Weber, Microsoft, Seattle, WA
  • Joyce D. Williams, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, Springfield, VA

Past Working Group and Advisory Board Members

  • Josh Caldwell,
  • Matt Dawson, Google
  • Diane O’Grady-Cuniff, Maryland Center for Computing Education, Adelphi, MD
  • Juan Palomares, Berendo Middle School, Los Angeles, CA
  • Minsoo Park, Countryside School, Champaign IL
  • Tess Posner, AI4All
  • Brian Stamford, Allegheny Intermediate Unit, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Melissa Unger, Elementary STEAM Teacher, South Fayette School District, South Fayette, PA

K-2 Grade Band

    • Susan Amsler-Akacem,Tech Innovator and Ed Tech Dept Head, Lincoln School for Girls, Providence, RI
    • April DeGennaro, Teacher, Peeples Elementary, Atlanta, GA
    • Vicky Sedgwick (lead), K-8 Technology Teacher, St. Martin’s Episcopal School, Winnetka, CA

3-5 Grade Band

    • Marlo Barnett, Technology Intervention Specialist, Carver Middle School, Chicago, IL
    • Alexis Cobo, K-5 Technology/CS Teacher, Pine Crest School, Boca Raton, FL
    • Phillip Eaglin, CEO & STEM Instructor, Changing Expectations, Austin, TX
    • Kelly Powers (lead), Teacher in Residence, Cornell Tech, New York, NY

6-8 Grade Band

    • Padmaja Bandaru, Computer Science Teacher, Advanced Math And Science Academy Charter School, Marlborough, MA
    • Charlotte Dungan, Instructor of Computer Science, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham NC
    • Rachel Smith, Computer Integration Instructor, Newtown Middle School, New Milford, CT
    • Sheena Vaidyanathan (lead), Computer Science Teacher, Los Altos School District, Los Altos, CA

9-12 Grade Band

    • Jared Amalong (lead), Computer Science Coordinator, Sacramento County Office of Education, Sacramento, CA
    • Smadar Bergman, Computer Science Teacher, Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire, IL
    • John Chapin, Math and CS Teacher, Academies of Loudon, Leesburg, VA
    • Kate Lockwood, Director of Computer Science and Engineering, St. Paul Academy, St. Paul, MN